Positive Thoughts/Negative Vibes


Ever wonder how those people who yell all the time or are rude all the time act when they get home?  I have weekly interaction with someone who is always rude, always abrasive and always wants things her way.  I wonder when she goes home to her husband and kids if she brings that demeanor with her to share with her family.  Ouch mom.

I am not sure I understand people who always interact with others on that angry plane. I think it must take incredible energy to maintain that level of anger and I imagine the amazing the things that could be accomplished if they channeled that anger into positive attitude and action.  Who taught them that being rude, yelling and being impolite is the way to get things done? 

When I am talking to someone like that, the movie in my mind is smacking them silly (or at least until they laugh), while outwardly I am trying to be cordial and respectful. Not always an easy feat for me since I tend to be rather direct.  Ok, not rather direct, I am direct.  The harsh, angry side of me (you and I know everyone has that side) wants to maroon all these folks on an island and let them battle it out….wait could that be a new reality show? “Looking for combatants who are always angry, rude and abrasive to demolish other contestants”.  Sad thing is people would watch it.

We all have moments when our emotions get the better of us.  We are rude when we don’t mean to be.  We stomp that imaginary foot when we want things our way.  We react poorly to external forces that at times overwhelm us.  It is part of being human.  I try, and I hope most people try, to apologize when I am aware of doing it and I would hope whoever was the brunt of my behavior, would call me on it.  That’s what friends do.

Do we want to be around people who are constantly haranguing (definition: to criticize or question somebody, or try to persuade somebody to do something in a forceful angry way)?  I find that behavior toxic and as I get older I am less likely to put myself in the sphere of people like that.  But what do we do when there is no way to avoid them?  Negative vibes simply don’t appeal to me.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PJ
    Sep 05, 2009 @ 00:41:26

    Mega Dittos Blinkeredinva! But you know what really gets under my skin? Name calling. And it’s so pervasive these days. Seems when someone cannot present their opposing view in a persuasive, intelligent manner, they counter by diminishing either the person or their expressed viewpoint. What’s particularly disturbing is that the very people doing most of the name-calling are the product of our most prominent and respected institutions, both in the educational and political arenas.

    Reply

  2. blinkeredinva
    Sep 05, 2009 @ 01:09:40

    So very true. It is almost shameful that folks can no longer agree to disagree. Everyone has to be right and they continuously yell and name call until they “believe” they have been heard.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Broken and Beautiful

Reflections on church, family, life and infertility

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

A Certain Slant of Light Photography

... the landscape listens, shadows hold their breath

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016....

~Idiot Writing~

'all our lives are a poetry - awake our souls.' ~ Battling the hypocrite within ~

vic briggs

A writer adrift

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Learus Ohnine - "Walls Were Made To Be Broken"

2014, inspiration, entertainment, informative, wellness, tranquility, diet, happiness, life, romance, friendships, relationships, home, family, love, light, joy, peace, serenity, motivation, freedom

The earth

Great people, places, events, trends, movies, music, life around this great world

Editorials from Hell's Leading Daily Newspaper

Hell's opinion of the actions of the Living [NOT SAFE FOR WORK]

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Andrew Hines

be inspired

Serendipity

Was I born a masochist or did society make me this way? I demand unconditional love and complete freedom. That is why I am terrible.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Trick of Light

and the rest is rust and stardust

ChangeLab

Strategy, Research & Vision for Racial Justice

